Personal tools

Wilson Memorial Library
You are here: Home / About our Library / Board of Trustees / Bylaws of the Board of Trustees

Bylaws of the Board of Trustees

The bylaws are the rules written and adopted by the board for operating its meetings and affairs.


Approved: 8/2010

Updated: 8/2014; 01/26/2015


A)    The Wilson Memorial Library Board of Trustees, hereafter referred to as the Board.

B)    The Board will comply with the Iowa Code in all questions of library law and governance and will further comply with the regulations set forth in the city’s library ordinance.  The Board’s specific powers and duties are set forth in the library ordinance.


A)    The Board shall meet on the fourth Monday of every month at 6:00 PM in the Wilson Memorial Library (subject to change, with notice.)

B)    A special meeting may be called by the president or any two board members.  The business of the special meeting shall be limited to that stated in the call for the meeting.  Notice must be announced as required by law of a regular meeting.

C)    A quorum shall consist of 5 members (from its total membership of 9 trustees).

D)    If there is not a quorum, bills can be approved to be paid.  Voting by proxy shall not be allowed.

E)     The Board shall comply with Iowa’s Open Meetings law by printing and publicly posting a copy of its agenda 24 hours prior to the meeting.

F)     The Board shall record its proceedings as minutes and shall keep copies of the minutes available for public inspection.

G)    The Director of the Wilson Memorial Library shall be present and participating at each meeting of the Board.

H)    The Board will conduct its meetings according to parliamentary procedure as detailed in the latest edition of Iowa State University’s Simplified Parliamentary Procedure.

I)       The order of business for regular meetings shall include minutes of the previous meeting, financial report, report of the library director, old business, new business, and other.  (“Other” must be included, so that something unscheduled may be introduced, or individuals, other than board members, may be allowed to speak.)


A)    Officers shall be the Board president, vice president, secretary and assistant treasurer, and shall be elected at the annual meeting in July.

B)    The terms of office shall be for one year.  Officers may succeed themselves in office.

C)    The president shall preside at all meetings, appoint all committees, and generally perform all duties associated with the office.  In the absence of the president, the vice president shall assume the president’s duties.  The secretary shall record all proceedings of the Board.  The assistant treasurer will double-check the bills before each meeting.

D)    Committees shall consist of the following:  Personnel, Budget, Building & Grounds, Grants, Advocacy, and Policy & Procedure.  The president as needed shall appoint ad hoc committees.

E)     Each committee shall act in an advisory capacity and shall report its recommendations to the full Board.


  • Hire and evaluate the library director.
  • Set salaries and benefits for the library’s personnel.
  • Participate in the budget process and secure adequate financial support for the library’s operations and services.
  • Set policies for the library’s operations and services.
  • Engage in planning for the library’s future.
  • Ensure library director and staff participation in training and continuing education.
  • Participate in Board training and educational opportunities.
  • Ensure the library’s involvement in Iowa Library Services’ initiatives.


These bylaws may be amended at any meeting of the Board with a quorum present, by a unanimous vote of the members present.

This resource is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by State Library of Iowa.